Saranac Helles Lager

April bought a 10 pack of craft beers a while ago, and has been pawning the ones she she doesn’t like off on me sharing them graciously with me. I had an IPA from her a while ago, but didn’t blog it (too bad). But I’m doing this one! Woohoo! Party! Radical dude! Huh? Oh, right, back to work.

The Verdict:

The color is nice, a light golden, like waves of wheat wafting in the wind. Holy Guinness, I love alliteration! Very nice aroma, it’s citrus and malt and a hint of hops. Good smell. Too bad it’s not as flavorful as it smells. A little bit of grain with with the lemon barely making its way back. Kinda light, very refreshing and, kinda….light. Light.

What Have We Learned?

When I lamented to April on how light the flavor was, she responded with, “Well, it’s a lager”. Where is it written that lager have to be light in flavor to the point of almost tasteless?  I’ve had some very flavorful lagers before, to the point that having a flavorless one is downright disappointing. I do enjoy lagers, but not this one.

Coming up, you’ve heard of different kinds of hops. If you haven’t, yes there’s more than one. What do they do? Let’s find out?

-Dex

Published in: on July 29, 2011 at 19:50  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerdaily.wordpress.com/2011/07/29/saranac-helles-lager/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment