Kona Brewing Longboard Lager

One of the other culinary school students told me about this beer when he learned about my blog. He’ll probably never read this (Hi Robbie!), but I saw the beer in a restaurant and decided to give it a shot, seeing he said it was the best lager he’s ever had. He’s from Hawaii though, so hes probably just biased…we shall see.

The Verdict:

I get the pint glass of golden elixir, and stick my nose in for a whiff. Some grain and a little bit of lemon. Off to a good start. The flavor is very malty, with the slightest hint of lemon. Nice and smooth. I love refreshing summer beers like this on a hot day like that. It wasn’t heavy, but it was full flavored.

What Have We Learned?

Well this wasn’t my number one favorite lager ever, but I’d have to say it’s in the top three. Definitely not bad. I can see why its Kona’s flagship beer. Yet another beer to bring a 6-pack of to a BBQ. Will keep everyone cool and quench thirst, but won’t kill your palate so the food is still good. And when I’M grilling, it’s GOOD.

Backlog is done! Tasting can resume! Huzzah!

-Dex

Published in: on July 25, 2011 at 18:24  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerdaily.wordpress.com/2011/07/25/kona-brewing-longboard-lager/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment