Unibroue Terrible

No, I’m not judging it already, that’s seriously it’s name. Which doesn’t bode well for how it will taste. Then again the last beer I tried from them was called “The End of The World”, and I’m still here, so I guess that’s just their thing. Another BIG bottle of VERY high alcohol beer (10.5%). Good thing I’ve got April to help me with this one.

The Verdict:

Wow. OK, this IS a bottle of beer, right? Because it smells like wine. Ok, there’s enough malt in the smell to make me think it’s not just wine. The flavor is, dare I say….nice! Malty, a little dry, a little acidic (kinda winey), and a little bit of chocolate too. Wasn’t expecting the chocolate, but it was a welcome addition. Almost tasted like a dry Chardonnay poured into a pint of Smithwicks. In all the good ways. I couldn’t really taste the alcohol, but I certainly felt it when I was done, as evidenced by the fact that my notes are….quite hard to read at the end.

What Have We Learned?

Well we’re 1 for 2 on Unibroue beers. This was WAY better than Le Fin du Monde. Looks like the next beer by them that I’ll have to try is Trois Pistoles. You know what, I bet that it’s……::Googles::…Yup, 9% ABV. Crazy Canadians are trying to kill me….but I continue to sacrifice for my craft. If I don’t post after I taste that, you know what to do. Wait for me to get off my lazy ass and post again. Blame Canada.

-Dex

Published in: on July 24, 2011 at 17:19  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerdaily.wordpress.com/2011/07/24/unibroue-terrible/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment