Ninkasi Believer Double Red Ale

When I went to the Hop N’ Barley beer fest, I tried a Ninkasi beer, and it was pretty good. Don’t really remember which one it was (I had quite a few that day), but I remember it wasn’t this one. Or another one that’s currently sitting in my fridge. So that much we know. Now let’s find out if there’s a red out there I like!

The Verdict:

Well, it’s definitely red. I’ll give it that. Malt aromas abound. Along with…hops? Not typical for the reds I’ve tried. Wow, it really comes out in the flavor as well. As the initial hop flavor fades, some malt and a little apple pop in to say hi. Hard to get over that initial hops shot though. Tastes more like a pale ale, or really more like an IPA, than a red. Not a fantastic IPA either. Not what I was expecting at all. I like it less the more of it I drink.

What Have We Learned?

That either Ninkasi has a loose definition of a red, or I do. Obviously, my experience of reds is not huge, but that didn’t taste anything like any red I’ve ever had. Soon, I’ll tackle the other Ninkasi beer in my fridge, and we shall see if it tastes anything like what it says on the label. More reports as events warrant. Over and out.

-Dex

Published in: on July 23, 2011 at 17:08  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerdaily.wordpress.com/2011/07/23/ninkasi-believer-double-red-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment