Sagres Preta Dark Ale

Another special night with my girl, another new restaurant (a Cuban place), another line of beers I’ve never seen before. Pretty much all of them were foreign to me, so I decided on the one with the nicest sounding name. Later on, I asked for a Colombian soda with a shot of rum in it, which was foreign to them, so I guess were even.

The Verdict:

The server brings the pint glass and I smell some grain. Hmmmmm. Not much else. Maybe a HINT of coffee. The flavor, while not as heavy or rich as I was expecting, was good, and went well with what we ate. A little roasted malt and some chocolate. Smooth and light. A little bit of coffee came out later on the glass. Maybe what I was eating had an effect on that though.

What Have We Learned?

Makes me wonder, in hindsight, if I should count the flavor that comes later in the glass when I’m eating. Maybe, because what I’m eating might bring out flavors in the beer I didn’t taste before. Maybe not, because what I’m eating might cover up some flavors in the beer I would taste otherwise. Hm. What do you think? Yes you. No, not you. YOU. I’m looking right at you. Drop me a line at beerdaily@gmail.com, or on Twitter, @beerdailyblog. Or, you know, you could leave a comment here. Up to you.

-Dex

Published in: on July 19, 2011 at 22:05  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerdaily.wordpress.com/2011/07/19/sagres-preta-dark-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment