Kostritzer Dark Lager

Another trip to the delicious Spanish restaurant, another new beer! This is the beer April got last time we were there, and I remember it wasn’t bad, so I decided to give it a try. Usually I find lagers that are light, in both color and flavor, but this one is….dark. My world has been turned upside down. Again. So now it’s right side up? Eh I’ve lost track.

The Verdict:

Well it certainly is dark. Actually it’s kind of a nice brown color. Not much smell to speak of. Weird. The flavor is dark and creamy, with a little coffee and a little chocolate. I say a little, because because this wasn’t exactly a complex and incredibly flavorful beer. It was nice and smooth, and it went pretty well with what we were eating, but next time we’re there, I’ll prolly order something else.

What Have We Learned?

Kinda wish the beer had more flavor, because what flavor it DID have was pretty good. On the other hand, I’m kinda glad it didn’t blow my palate away so I could still taste my food. Which will bring me to Beer/Food Pairing Guide Number 2: The beer should enhance the food, not over power it. So intense, super hoppy beers are usually out. SORRY STONE. Don’t worry though, I still love you.

-Dex

Published in: on July 2, 2011 at 23:08  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerdaily.wordpress.com/2011/07/02/kostritzer-dark-lager/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment