Mississippi Mud Black and Tan Porter and Pilsner

Another beer April (Hi April!) wanted to get. I always passed this beer by, thinking it was a little gimmicky. How can you pour a proper black and tan out of a bottle? Short answer, you can’t. OR CAN YOU? The answer to that, and more, when we return.

The Verdict:

Welcome back! While you were gone, I researched the answer on Wikipedia! Ahem, I mean, I drank the beer. And took notes and stuff. So It’s not layered like a traditional black and tan out of the tap, but that’s kinda what I expected. It smelled quite a bit like coffee, probably from the porter, and tasted a bit like coffee too, but in the good way. (I’m not much of a coffee drinker.) Then the pilsner kicks in and gives it some sweetness (like a slightly sweet coffee) and the final chocolate notes from the porter make it a……mocha? Is that right? An alcoholic mocha. Either way, I enjoyed this. It IS a bit gimmicky, but well done, and delicious.

What have we learned?

That I should every beer a chance. Also, peace. Never mind, forget peace, it’s been given enough chances. I may also like coffee more than I thought I did (not at all). I wonder if they make other layered beers in bottles. Snakebite, Black and Blue, etc. This might require some research. Or invention on my part.

I know I didn’t post yesterday, but we did wine tasting in class for culinary school, and I gots rules to follow……. see you tomorrow though.

-Dex

Published in: on May 28, 2011 at 16:48  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerdaily.wordpress.com/2011/05/28/mississippi-mud-black-and-tan-porter-and-pilsner/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am trying to find the percent of alcohol in Mississipi Mud. Any ideas?

    • A couple places I checked both said 5%. Sounds about right to me.

  2. This Mississippi Mud is awesome I only wish it came in 1/2 gal size then I could swing it over my shoulder like moon shine LOL . It,s a great beer ,I love it and for 2.99 how can you beat it. With I could tell the brewers how great their beer is.


Leave a comment