Widmer Brothers Reserve: Barrel Aged Brrrbon

Whenever I see a brewer or brewery trying to show off their chops, I’m cautiously optimistic. Such was definitely the case with the first Widmer Brothers Reserve I tried: A Prickly Pear Braggot, and wow, was it good. Too bad you can’t get it anymore. Guess we will have to make do with this…

The Verdict:

…..Which is fine with me! OH, some background on the beer. Widmer took their seasonal winter beer, called “Brrr”(Hah) and aged it in used bourbon barrels. Immediately the bourbon comes through in the aroma along with cherries…As I take the first sips, I get hit with delicious caramel and malt followed by the oak barrel it was aged in. It felt thick, but surprisingly smooth for the 9.4% alcohol content. Which is only ONE reason you want to take your time and sip this beer. Another is the fact that it drinks QUITE a bit like a whiskey, it’s complex and flavorful. Yet another is its almost 14 dollar pricetag………..

What have we learned?

Wow I’m glad I bought two bottles of this. I’ll prolly even buy another one just to make sure I have a reserve before they stop producing it. I’m both a whiskey and beer drinker, and this felt like the best of both worlds. Two for two on Widmer Reserve beers!

-Dex

Published in: on May 21, 2011 at 19:56  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beerdaily.wordpress.com/2011/05/21/widmer-brothers-reserve-barrel-aged-brrrbon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment